The Virtue Series: Sincerity

We have walked a long road on a Tuesday night when you said you needed space. A time to move forward. A time to achieve your dreams without me. You broke my heart with your flowery words, like purple heather in winter daylight – beautiful and composed, admirable yet cold.

Your words suppressed mine. My senses were flooded with your lines of apologies. And my thoughts shattered like leaves falling off from a sycamore tree in autumn. I tried to calm down and looked in your eyes seeking all the truth underneath the verses of your empty sorrows. Because deep inside, we both knew, we don’t share the same pain; my longing is your freedom, my love is your regret.

I bid my last goodbye. We parted ways. And walked on our own crossroads away from each other. No one tried to look back as if you were listening to a song of new beginnings and mine was to a tune of melancholy.

Years have passed, but every night I wait for you on the other side of the crossroad. Smoking my cigars. Pinning my ears to a melody of second chances.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.